Call us +49 (0)761 / 270-51190
Principal Investigator

Department of Neuropsychiatry and Laboratory of Molecular Psychiatry,
Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin

Charitéplatz 1
10117 Berlin

Academic Education

1988-1996 Studies in Medicine (University of Bochum, Technical University of Munich, Université de Lausanne, Georgetown University and Harvard University)

Scientific Degrees

2002 Habilitation: Charité & Humboldt University, Berlin
1998 Doctorate: Dr. med., Max-Planck-Institute of Psychiatry and TU Munich

Professional Experience

Since 2017 Chair of Brain Inflammation and Repair, University of Edinburgh and UK DRI
Since 2015 Professor (W3) of Neuropsychiatry, Charité
Since 2011 Vice Chair, Department of Psychiatry and Psychotherapy CCM, Charité
Since 2010 Director, Department of Neuropsychiatry, Charité
Since 2008 Tenured Professor (W2) of Psychiatry, Charité
Since 2006 Consultant, Department of Psychiatry and Psychotherapy CCM, Charité
2004-2007 Professor (C3) of Psychiatry and Head, Laboratory of Molecular Psychiatry, Charité
Since 2000 Group leader, Department of Experimental Neurology, Charité
1998-2004 Resident in Neurology and in Psychiatry, Charité-Universitätsmedizin Berlin

Others (Editorial work, member of scientific councils, advisory boards, awards)

~ Reviewer (Journals, ad hoc): Acta Neuropathol, Ann Neurol, Biol. Psychiatry, Brain, Embo J, J Cell Biol., J Clin Invest, J Exp Med, J Neurosci, Lancet Neurol, Mol Psychiatry, Nat Neurosci, Nat Med, Nat Rev Immunol, Plos Med, Science Stem Cells
~ Editorial board member: Brain Pathology, Glia, PLoS One, Cytotherapy
Associate Editor: Brain Communications
ERC deputy panel chair
2019 Brian Abel-Smith Prize
Since 2019 Member of the Executive Board, DGGPP
Since 2017 Chair, Dementia Research Committee, DGBP
Since 2016 Deputy Spokesperson, DFG SFB/TRR167
Since 2011 Chair, Neurology Committee, International Society for Cellular Therapy
2010-2015 Coordinator (with M. Prinz), DFG Research Unit (FOR) 1336
2004-2009 Elected member of the Junge Akademie, Berlin Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Leopoldina
2003 Robert Feulgen Prize, Society for Histochemistry
2002 EMBO fellowship
2001 Novartis Prize for Therapeutic Research